O.K....I just got the Reefbot today....what do I do now?

Discussion in 'Reef Kinetics' started by CyberGuy, Mar 15, 2019.

  1. CyberGuy

    CyberGuy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I just got the Reefbot today. The first thing that I will do is watch the youtube video on how to set it up and calibrate it.

    After that, where should I get the best reagents to do the test? I have heard that the API test kits are not too expensive but from reading the reviews, they are quite inaccurate.

    For those who just got this "expensive" device, where do you buy your reagents and which one do you use?

    This is like buying a printer, it is the ink/toner (and in the case of reef keeping they are the reagents) that is most costly.
     

  2. mdbannister

    mdbannister Ahh...the Reef Life Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Photo of the Month Award R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    24,463
    Likes Received:
    22,231
    Location:
    Ontario, California
    I'd go with Red Sea or Salifert
     
  3. rushbattle

    rushbattle Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Location:
    WNC
    Red Sea alk, because it has good precision and accuracy and only uses one reagent vial. API Ca because it’s most cost effective and it’s great. Giesemann PO4 because it has to be better than API. Tropic Marin NO3, but it’s still in beta testing. The only other NO3 kit is API and it’s not horrible but needs finer resolution.
     
    JoshGriga likes this.
  4. crazyboi48

    crazyboi48 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    SoCal
    If you would be so kind to explain what I’d be paying for? Does this automatically test? I tried watching the video but am a bit confused, do you add the regeants in the reefbot and refill when needed? Has it worked well for you?

    Thanks I’m advance.
     
  5. drernesto

    drernesto Well-Known Member Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    748
    Location:
    Beirut, Lebanon
    Hello,
    Yes you need to add the reagents to the vials.
     
  6. rushbattle

    rushbattle Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Location:
    WNC
    You buy the bot, find a nice container for RODI water, and one for waste container. I’d suggest at least 5 liters waste and 2 liters water, but less is fine too, just more refilling and dumping waste.

    You have to supply the test kit reagents of your choice from the list of supported kits. Then add reagents from supported test kits to the vials, and tell the bot what you did. Now you can test on a schedule, or tell it to run a test whenever you want.

    Yes, I’m happy with mine, it’s really nice to have. The support is great, they really care about what they are doing. @drernesto has committed to adding support for more test kits in the future, adding new parameters as well,as options for current tested parameters. I’m selfishly hoping someone will come out with a line of high volume (bulk), cost effective, reagent only products for use specifically with reefbot that are precise and accurate relative to what’s on the market now.
     
    drernesto likes this.
  7. Michael Darling

    Michael Darling Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    20
    I don’t own a Reefbot but have seen and read on it. I think it would be great if the makers would come up with there own reagents for this product.
     
  8. sbash

    sbash Not Just a Potato R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    943
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    They'll need to step up their game once the Neptune Trident comes out! It would be a shame for such a great product to go under just because a bigger player released something better. If they could do their own reagents and dosing (for less than the cost of an apex with trident), I would jump on that!
     
  9. Michael Darling

    Michael Darling Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    20
    It’s a dog eat dog for sure.
     
  10. Brett newell

    Brett newell Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    173
    How is everybody liking theirs after a few months of use? Are they working on developing their own regents yet? That seems like the easiest way to go.

    Not too many reviews about this out there. Also does it integrate with apex at all? And does it test for pH or is that in the works by chance?

    @drernesto
     
  11. drernesto

    drernesto Well-Known Member Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    748
    Location:
    Beirut, Lebanon
    Hello Brett,

    Yes we are developing our own reagents.
    we are also working on sharing APIs which will allow you to integrate it with other controllers.

    You can always check the ReefBot owners group on FB for more reviews.

    Cheers,
    Rabih
     
  12. Brett newell

    Brett newell Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    173
    Glad to hear you're working on your own regents. Any chance you're also working on testing pH?

    I am awaiting approval by admins in the FB page. So far only gleaming reviews. Looks like I'll be getting one of these over an apex. Especially if the reefbot will eventually test pH.
    Thank you for the quick response @drernesto
     
  13. rushbattle

    rushbattle Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Location:
    WNC
    You could definitely test pH with it, but would be way less accurate and much more expensive than a simple pH probe. A raspberry pi, reef-pi pick boars from blueacro.com, and a pH probe will get you continuous monitoring of pH for $100 or so.
     
  14. drernesto

    drernesto Well-Known Member Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    748
    Location:
    Beirut, Lebanon
    We are working on pH and various other parameters.

    Cheers,
     
  15. drernesto

    drernesto Well-Known Member Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    748
    Location:
    Beirut, Lebanon
    We will be adding probes to the ReefBot :)
     
    rushbattle likes this.
  16. drernesto

    drernesto Well-Known Member Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    748
    Location:
    Beirut, Lebanon