P3. 1 question

topjimmy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
256
Reaction score
150
I'm considering going to all ghl, I have a stand alone doser, and am considering buying a new 3.1 from the store. I have a diy led system that needs 5v pwm to dim. I think that I would need the breakout board to be able to make it work,not sure though. I was also thinking about the optical sensor for my ato. Any reason why this won't work for me?
 

Gareth elliott

Read, Tinker, Fail, Learn
View Badges
Joined
May 7, 2017
Messages
4,355
Reaction score
4,875
Location
NJ
I do not see why you wouldn’t be able to. The 3.1 has 2 optical ports and each of their systems are built for backwards compatibility. On the GHL USA site they have had the 3.1 on sale for awhile in different size sets.
Look at the information on led driver, should help how it should be connected.
What pumps are you using? Some models of pumps can also be controlled via 0-10v as well.

Will also tag @Ditto
 
OP
T

topjimmy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
256
Reaction score
150
I do not see why you wouldn’t be able to. The 3.1 has 2 optical ports and each of their systems are built for backwards compatibility. On the GHL USA site they have had the 3.1 on sale for awhile in different size sets.
Look at the information on led driver, should help how it should be connected.
What pumps are you using? Some models of pumps can also be controlled via 0-10v as well.

Will also tag @Ditto
The driver is a blue acro, which takes 3-5v pwm for dimming, so I'm pretty sure that I need the extra board. Though I don't know if it is only for dimming, it looks like it sends power also, but I don't know. I do have a DC return pump but I don't think that I care about controlling it other than just off.
 

[email protected]

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
393
Reaction score
534
For varios pump control, you need:
  • Varios pump control cable, sourced from manufacturer. Apex cable is OK.
  • GHL S & L Breakout box accessory
The RJ45 end of the control cable is cut and installed onto the breakout box. The breakout box is then connected to one of the 1-10V ports on the ProfiLux.

If you're on our mailing list, you'll be one of the first to know about upcoming sales. :)
 
OP
T

topjimmy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
256
Reaction score
150
Ok sounds good.

Now for the optical level sensor, how the heck does it mount?
 

ingchr1

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 9, 2018
Messages
334
Reaction score
189
Ok sounds good.

Now for the optical level sensor, how the heck does it mount?
It mounts horizontally. Here's the holder and base unit:


I've read a few negative reviews on their base unit.

Here's how I mounted mine:

 
OP
T

topjimmy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
256
Reaction score
150
Ok Cart is loaded . Now..??now the 3.1 that much different than the 4? I prefer the lan connection anyway. Seems like it would do everything that the 4 can.
 
OP
T

topjimmy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
256
Reaction score
150
Ok Cart is loaded . Now..??now the 3.1 that much different than the 4? I prefer the lan connection anyway. Seems like it would do everything that the 4 can.
Pulled the trigger on the 3.1,and looks like I might have gotten the last one in stock!

Can't wait for it to get here and set it up.
 

How often do have to clean your aquarium glass?

  • Every Day

    Votes: 39 8.7%
  • A few Days a Week

    Votes: 135 30.3%
  • A Couple Days a Week

    Votes: 142 31.8%
  • Once a Week

    Votes: 106 23.8%
  • Every 10 or so Days

    Votes: 24 5.4%
  • Every Couple of Weeks

    Votes: 18 4.0%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 5 1.1%

Online statistics

Members online
1,021
Guests online
3,427
Total visitors
4,448
Use pumps from different brands TOGETHER!
AquaLocker.com
Top