Palytoxin research

Reefer5060

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, well you guys have been most helpful in me establish a foot and hand hold back into the hobby ,I thought I would share my findings up to this point but first a little Backround on me. I'm from Nashville was originally a member before I went off to school. I had absolutely idea no what I wanted to do after school . So I got my emt licenses while in school did that for a while realized I wanted but i wanted to do more.long story short 2 major changes I am now premed. I have been working as a pharmacy technician for almost 4 years and find myself studying and wanting to learn about most the drugs I dispense, so I do. Then I was starting to see palytoxin stuff pop up, so my mind went to the pharmacy .... You would be surprised how many prescription drugs are actually derived organisms found on this planet.an example of this is digoxin it is derived from the fox glove plant.the reason . I use the term similar very very loosely So I found something to occupy more of my time. Over the past few months I have set up the 1 aquarium and started growing out sustainable colonies to collect test subjects from. I know that I am know where near a professional and this research has many holes and I understand that,this is meant to just get a foundation for hopefully someone much smarter than I am to build on.

Palytoxin brief overview
I have been reading reading and reading some more about palytoxin however there is not that much out there.
Basically it is deadly stuff depending on how it enters your body ie mouth not nearly as deadly as iv,but either way just take my warning don't mess with it. The ld50 which is the amount that was lethal to 50%of the test subjects is still speculated and what little data there is is averaged to about .8 mg per kg of test subject weight.