Playboy bunny zoa losing color

Chrisv.

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to zoas but not to reefing, and I have a recently set up zoa nano. my parameters are as follows;

No3: 1.0
po4: .13
sg: 1.025
temp: 79.0
alk: 8.3
ca: 390

i dose brightwell aminos every three days or so but do not feed right now because I have no fish in the tank and I’m worried that amphipods will explode if I feed with no predators around.

I’m running chemipure blue and filter floss in my aio back chamber. No skimmer.

The tank was set up with relatively established live rock from my LFS. So far there are only zoanthids a small cleanup crew, and what seems to be an unreasonable amount of pods.

for lighting I’m using an ai prime hd 16 set with all blue channels set to 40% and all other channels set to 20%. This gives me a par of 100-140 throughout the tank.

my bunnies wer an amazing pink color for 2.5 weeks after adding, but they are turning brown! Polyps are large with very short stalk. The only real change I have made is bumping the lights from 30% to 40%.

do you think I induced the color shift by hitting them with too much light? Is this strain particularly known for needing low light? The queen Midas next to to them look spot on.

OP
OP
C

Chrisv.

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
BB667FC2-1471-41B5-860F-43BB308ADE3E.jpeg

captainbeardly

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to zoas but not to reefing, and I have a recently set up zoa nano. my parameters are as follows;

No3: 1.0
po4: .13
sg: 1.025
temp: 79.0
alk: 8.3
ca: 390

i dose brightwell aminos every three days or so but do not feed right now because I have no fish in the tank and I’m worried that amphipods will explode if I feed with no predators around.

I’m running chemipure blue and filter floss in my aio back chamber. No skimmer.