Please Help! I am new and I don't know what this is!

Jakebudds

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all!

I am relatively new to the aquarium hobby being that this is my first ever tank and I need some help diagnosing my 2 Ocellaris clowns. I have an EVO 13.5 and I've just made a few adjustments to the filtration system not to long ago by adding the InTank media baskets in both chambers. I've also recently got a Bubble Tip Anemone friend for the clowns and some turbo snails for clean up crew as I had a decent hair algae bloom. The algae is almost under control now but here is my problem:

Both of my clownfish have white chins and cheeks all of a sudden. The orange one also seems to be missing a chunk out of their chin. Where as the black one has the opposite, it has a white lump on it's chin. The kicker is that they both have the whiteish portion around the lips and on their cheeks. They are eating like savages as per usual, swimming around like they normally do and rubbing up on the anemone. I even caught the black one today sucking on the anemone's tentacles. They do appear to be breathing a little faster but I just did a 50% water change and they seem to have calmed down a bit in their breathing. At first I thought Ich, then I thought bacterial or fungal infections but I am lost.

I bought some Ruby Reef Kick-Ich and Rally that's on the way for delivery and should arrive in the next few days that I am planning to try as I do not have the means to set up a quarantine tank.

Any help would be appreciated!

IMG_20210602_191132194_HDR.jpg
IMG_20210602_191126550_HDR.jpg

Last edited:

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!