Please help my mediocre reef tank

firedancer414

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

My name is Brian and I have a mediocre reef tank. Generally, everything I put inside the tank is slowly dying, the only things that have been growing are a few of the zoa colonies. Acans have been especially unhappy. Ricordia seem to be doing better. Elegance coral has been in there for 3 months and doing well. Frog spawn and neon branching hammers both had polyp bailout in the last few weeks. I'd really really appreciate your eyes on this to help me, I'm still very new to the hobby having never had significant coral growth in a tank.

IMG_0215.jpg

My leading hypotheses as to why:
1) Low nutrients and everything is starving.
2) Too high light levels.
3) Hermit crabs, shrimp, coral beauty / wrasse being mean to corals
4) Too small of a clean up crew (?)

Equipment:

Tank has been running for about 1.5 years.
  • Red Sea Reefer 170 (40 gallons total volume)
Typical day - I like to think that I have very good stability. I did some cleaning hence the ORP drop to 321 today.

Screen Shot 2019-09-18 at 6.05.08 PM.png

• Livestock:
    2 clowns
    2 diamond goby
    1 midas blenny
    1 bicolor blenny
    1 melanarus wrasse
    1 coral beauty
    3x hermit crab (orange + blue electric, Halloween)
  • 2x shrimp (1 skunk / cleaner, 1 fire/blood shrimp)
    Lots of snails - although many of them may be dead?
  • Flow: 2 MP10s, mounted on the back, generally running at 90-100%
Screen Shot 2019-09-18 at 6.33.18 PM.png

• Filtration:
    • Bio: Sand, live rock
    • Skimmer: Tunze DC 9004 (it doesn't seem to pull a ton?)
    • Refugium: Chaeto (with good growth) powered by a Kessil H380. Currently runs from 8pm - 7am.
    • Water Changes: Extremely rarely (I run Triton)
    • Carbon Reactor: Running BRS Premium ROX 0.8, change it roughly every 2-4 weeks.
    • I've always tested extremely low PO4 and NO4