Plumbing Problem / Repair . . . Leak Beneath The Tank!

Maritimer

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pretty much crossposted from the last post in my build thread, but any eyes and assistance would be welcome:

Changing filter socks just now, and wiped some salt creep from the top of a pipe under the tank.

Why is this pipe _rotating_ ... this pipe is not supposed to _rotate_ . . .

Yeah. After something like seven years (I've been banging my head against the reefing wall for seven years?!!), the PVC glue has come undone, and the thing's leaking. No, of _course_ it's not leaking over the sump! It's leaking near some electrical outlets!

Water is dripping from the larger valve in the photo below:

IMG_3480.JPG

Return is shut off, and there's tupperware under the leak. It's late now, but obviously tomorrow's principal project will be to score some cleaner, purple primer and cement - gotta figure a way to get it dry enough to glue without taking down the entire system. Is this, like ... a thing? Does the PVC under the tank and its joins only last for just so long??

What can I use to clean the pipe and join so it will dry completely, and I can get a good seal in position??

Wish me luck.

~B.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Pretty much crossposted from the last post in my build thread, but any eyes and assistance would be welcome:

Changing filter socks just now, and wiped some salt creep from the top of a pipe under the tank.

Yeah. After something like seven years (I've been banging my head against the reefing wall for seven years?!!), the PVC glue has come undone, and the thing's leaking. No, of _course_ it's not leaking over the sump! It's leaking near some electrical outlets!

IMG_3480.JPG