Poll: Laminar Flow vs. Turbulent Flow

Do You Have a Laminar or Turbulent Flow?

• Laminar

Votes: 74 10.1%
  • Turbulent

Votes: 275 37.6%
  • I don't really know

Votes: 171 23.4%
  • A Combination of Laminar & Trubulent

Votes: 211 28.9%

• Total voters

dbl

It Takes Less Energy to be Nice
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
We often talk about lighting in aquaria - this light or light type vs. another. But the concept of flow isn't discussed as often with the exception of "What's the Best Power Head?". So let's talk about water flow. I'm by no means an expert but it can be argued that water flow is at least as important as lighting to the health of our corals.

So I'm curious how your current water flow pattern is set up now. Is it more of a laminar flow or do you have it designed to try to get a turbulent flow? Many things play in to this like the size of the aquarium, the nature of the rock work and coral placement, and obviously the quantity, power and types of flow generators (power heads, gyres, etc) you use. So let's start with where we are now and maybe through this discussion, we'll learn what we "should" be looking for.

Let's discuss.

OP
OP
dbl

dbl

It Takes Less Energy to be Nice
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
whats the difference between luminar and turbulent flow ?

guessing you don't know the answer ?? why even make a poll if youre gonna ignore people

Basically, a laminar flow is described as a more unidirectional flow - meaning the flow created by your power head(s) is primarily flowing in one direction. The flow can and likely will be "disrupted" by rock work, corals, etc. and redirected if you will.

A turbulent flow is a random flow in multiple directions, typically accomplished with multiple power heads, programming of power heads, oscillating nozzles, etc.

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0