Poll: Laminar Flow vs. Turbulent Flow

Discussion in 'Reef Aquarium Discussion' started by dbl, Dec 4, 2017.

?
  1. Laminar

64 vote(s)
    9.2%
  2. Turbulent

267 vote(s)
    38.6%
  3. I don't really know

166 vote(s)
    24.0%
  4. A Combination of Laminar & Trubulent

195 vote(s)
    28.2%
  1. dbl

dbl It Takes Less Energy to be Nice Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

We often talk about lighting in aquaria - this light or light type vs. another. But the concept of flow isn't discussed as often with the exception of "What's the Best Power Head?". So let's talk about water flow. I'm by no means an expert but it can be argued that water flow is at least as important as lighting to the health of our corals.

So I'm curious how your current water flow pattern is set up now. Is it more of a laminar flow or do you have it designed to try to get a turbulent flow? Many things play in to this like the size of the aquarium, the nature of the rock work and coral placement, and obviously the quantity, power and types of flow generators (power heads, gyres, etc) you use. So let's start with where we are now and maybe through this discussion, we'll learn what we "should" be looking for.

Let's discuss.

Bob Escher, Cary, Jamie7907 and 3 others like this.
    Tags:

2. joshbridges

joshbridges Active Member

whats the difference between luminar and turbulent flow ?

Bunnee911 likes this.
  3. DSC reef

DSC reef Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

Used to have more turbulent flow with standard power heads creating random currents. Upgraded to a gyre and the tank literally woke up.

KJ, Mikedawg, Cary and 7 others like this.
  4. Katrina71

Katrina71 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

Perfect timing. I'm about to change mine up. Curious to see what experienced reefers have to say about their experience and preference.