Popbloom Fixtures with a custom spectrum.

FBAA

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As an electrical engineer I have looked at the popbloom fixtures and found that they put a lot of thought into the PCB design. Their spectrum needs to be adjusted for reefkeepers. Is this something someone would like. Custom wavelengths or tailored spectrum. I am running them for testing and it looks promising.

AutumnReefs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They are a copy and paste of the reef led design from red sea (but different colors)

oreo54

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They are a copy and paste of the reef led design from red sea (but different colors)
Think they are referring to these:

Not these:

funny how they are called RS-90
i.e Red Sea.. ;)

oreo54

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As an electrical engineer I have looked at the popbloom fixtures and found that they put a lot of thought into the PCB design. Their spectrum needs to be adjusted for reefkeepers. Is this something someone would like. Custom wavelengths or tailored spectrum. I am running them for testing and it looks promising.
Not to put this thread off track but I've dealt w/ PopBloom (formerly DSunY) and their old style had pretty crude circuit boards using linear drivers and from the looks of it hand made circuit boards.
Models like this:
1.0x0.jpg

Newest do have what looks to be a HUGE upgrade in this dept.
dsunyboard1.JPG

curious on your opinion esp. regarding driver IC's.
It's a hobby of mine.

i'll be MIGHTILY impressed if you are customizing these:
$_57.JPG

AHHH the gentle simmer of light..

Last edited:
OP
OP
FBAA

FBAA

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not to put this thread off track but I've dealt w/ PopBloom (formerly DSunY) and their old style had pretty crude circuit boards using linear drivers and from the looks of it hand made circuit boards.
Models like this: