Question about remote fish room plumbing-500g tank with Abyzz A400 Return

Jeffdstafford

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

I have a plumbing/water flow question for anyone with experience. We will be moving soon to another house, and luckily I'll be able to finally have a fish room for all my equipment. The tank will be placed against an outside wall, which I will drill through to run my drain lines; Four 1.5" drains, which will then need to travel 28ft over to the remote fish room, and then up a couple feet into 4 Theiling Rollermats. I have a 500 gallon display, and the top of the drain pipes are approximately 6ft high, so there will be decent head pressure to push the drain lines. I am using an Abyzz A400 pump for the return, so no worries on getting the water back to the tank, but I have no experience with remotely running the drains anywhere except straight down to my current sump.

What is the best way to accomplish this 28ft run? I'm in west Texas, and we have VERY hot summers, so I'm thinking about running the lines down underground a few inches with insulation to avoid sunlight warming the pipes, then run underground and back up at the fish room wall. Will this setup work to get proper drainage? I don't need a massive turnover rate, but hoping to turn over my volume 2 or 3 times an hour.

I guess the other option is running the pipes above ground at a constant downslope over to the fish room wall? Either way, the side of the home where the piping will be is on the side run of the yard, so no one will ever see it, so I've got the freedom to do this in the most efficient way.

Any suggestions?

Thanks all!
Jeff

mcarroll

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It seems like the fish room being that far away eliminates a good bit of the convenience.