red algae that wont go away, is it my light? temperature??

emerald_coast<hippie>

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
aquatop 40 gall rimless 5 stage internal filter box system
aquatop BT-PROSKIM 2nd gen for recife eco 24 to 40 gallon

hydra 32hd smart reef led : david saxby AI signature

caluerpa mexicana
caluerpa prolifera
bubble tip aneomone
some sort of zoanthids (not sure)
a green blastomussa frag ( i think its dying)

clownfish pair
blenny
razorfish

cleanup crew:reef safe hermit crabs
turbo snails.

hello there, im new to the reef aquarium game and ive been having a few problems and im not exactly sure what to change or how to fix, i appreciate any suggestion.
its about 3 months old and ive been having the worst time with some sort of fluffy red algae, ive been testing the water almost every few days with the api marine reef and saltwater master test kit and everything has been coming up pretty good, my ph was a little low so i did add a ph buffer and it was back to perfect.
i did add marine snow and aquavitro fuel for reef (some coral growing supplement) and my red fluffy unwanted friends exploded. :smiling-face-with-tear:
my water heather and thermometer were giving me two different readings so i got a HiTauing digital heater and so far it works great.
im not exactly sure if theres a specific light intensity for my reef stage but ive been using the AI signature by david saxby since day one and it may be too strong and burning my corals up but im not sure.
i did have issues with my protein skimmer for a few weeks that basically created a red algae slick in the filter chamber in the back, there was a cap that was blocking a hole on the reservoir of the skimmer that was missing so everything just dripped back into where my biological filtration is but i did get another cap on and it seems to be working again.

any advice or suggestion is welcome.

Attachments

• VID-20230112-WA0002.mp4
    8.8 MB
  • VID-20230112-WA0003.mp4
    11.7 MB

KrisReef