Red nuisance algae help

bdpd1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all. This is my wife’s biocube 32. In a total newb in the hobby, and my wife has been at it for a year, but I’ll help and learn. The last month or so we’ve had troubles with red algae. Concurrently our candy cane coral has become stressed losing flesh, and today our chromis started yawning, gulping at the surface and looks to be dying today. Something is seriously amiss. I’m about to do the coffee filter and peroxide tests, and as soon as I can get a look under the microscope I’ll post a pic on here.

The parameters in the tank had been undetectable no2/no3, low calcium (330), phos 0.14. LFS confirmed the home testing, suggested dyno based on that, and over feeding the tank, doing less frequent water changes with the goal of trying to get phos and nitrates up. No progress on the red algae since then. 1 day after a 25% water change and pretty aggressive siphoning of the media, parameters are:

pH 8.2, KH 5.5, spgr 1.025, 80.0F, ca 360, mg 1440, phos .02, no2 0.05, no3 1, ammonia 0.

Once the organism is definitively ID’d looking for recommendations on a short term and long term plan. Wife is thinking reef fusion vs me thinking crushed coral to help with Ca/KH. We’re going to purchase a UV sanitizer. Other ideas? Keep “over feeding” the tank to try to get positive nitrogen balance?

Thanks for any advice in advance.

Brad

9FA2021D-C4F6-4360-8A86-D6793446337B.jpeg 1127404F-38B2-4B9A-9F42-8E7E4CF37E19.jpeg 52302F17-6DEE-477B-81C5-EDF7CC498CBF.jpeg E37FD06F-D87C-4999-8CD6-28BF9E1794BF.jpeg

Revnobody

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The red algae looks like a minor outbreak of cyanobacteria. As far as the fish gulping at the surface, I would first suspect high ammonia levels and low oxygen. What test kit are you using for ammonia?

OP
OP
B

bdpd1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0