Red Sea Coral Pro Alk

Panicked Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am still VERY new to all of this. I am confused about the alk in my tank. I use coral pro salt. My fresh saltwater mixes to this on average
Ph: 8.6
Sal: 1.026
Kh: 12
Mg: 1460
Ca:450
I do weekly water changes of 10% of my 90g total vol.
When I do my weekly tests prior to my water change I average
Ph: 8.2
Kh: 8.5
Mg :1500
Ca: 435
If I understand correctly Coral Pro Alk naturally diminishes from about 12 down to 9 or 8 within a day or 2, even in a holding vessel. What is the reasoning behind this? How is one supposed to dose compensating for this? I have been monitoring my alk more closely and it appears I loose .1 alk per day. I only have a few zoa frags, sm duncan, med frogspawn, a few smaller candy canes. Overall a not what I would consider a demanding amount of corals by any means. Does this drop in alk seem normal with no more demand than I have? Is a loss of .7 over a week something I should be compensating for? Is the mag level of concern? Thank you in advance for any help.

Rjmul

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You need to decide where you want to run your alkalinity at and buy a salt that mixes close. They're all different.

I keep my alkalinity between 7 and 8

for my purposes, coral pro salt is insane, and I would never use it

I use Red Sea salt, but the blue bucket. This batch I just got mixed at 7.7.

A lot of factors play into how you run your alkalinity but I don't know many folks running a tank at anything close to 12

OP
OP
P

Panicked Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0