Redecorating

chefbone

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all. I'm new to the reef hobby. I have a 37 gal. with 24lbs. rock. I have a green star, purple people eater and a couple green mushrooms, two clowns and a bi-color angel, last week I added a small marble star and a long tentacle anemone.

I want to put a piece of plexi on the back glass and get 20lbs. more rock and add more sand. Also re-arrange the rocks and be done with that. All my water params are excellent and everyone seems happy (even more happy when they get their metal halide this weekend).

My question is, will it be very detrimental to the livestock to pull the rock out, add more live sand, put the plexi in and add the rock back in plus 20 more lbs.? After this I will have enough rock and be done with decorating, anything going in after that will be coral and maybe a fish or two. Thanks.

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
First off welcome to R2R!

Ok let's see here. What is the plexi glass about?

Next question would be is the extra 20lbs of rock you want to add cycled or from an existing tank?

If the rock is dry or cycled already then it will be ok to add it to the tank for sure. Also instead of adding live sand, just add dry sand and the live rock and sand you have now will seed it plus it will be cheaper.

OP
OP
chefbone

chefbone

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The plexi is to keep from possible scratching or breaking the back glass. Would I have to rinse the dry sand? And I will be buying cycled rock.

cparka23

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd rinse the sand to remove the chalky, fine powder. The liverock should be fine out of water for a bit as long as there are no sponges growing on them. The air will kill those.