REEF OF THE MONTH - April 2024: A Full Wall Bookcase Aquarium!!!

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0

Reef of the month  title.png

R2R Username: @JGT
My Tank Thread: My 240, My 240/Basement Fish Room, My 240/Basement Fish Room/built into a full wall bookcase and focal point of house addition.
Hi everyone, my name is John or better known as JGT on R2R and I’ve been keeping fish/corals on and off for over 40 years. As a boy, I had freshwater water tanks and as I got older, I migrated to saltwater. My initial foray into saltwater was back in the early 1990’s. Got myself a 135 gallon, stand, wet/dry filter with bioballs and the plan was to start up a fish only tank. That was until I came across a magazine called Freshwater and Marine Aquarium where there were pics of tanks with corals and fish, and I was hooked.

I got myself a Hamilton Metal Halide/VHO light canopy and a couple hundred pounds of Marshall Island live rock and began my venture into reef aquariums.

After a house move and receiving a free 240-gallon tank, stand and canopy from a buddy of mine across the country (see my Build Thread for more details) the tank sat in my garage for 17 years while other life events took priority. Fast forward to late 2021 where I just finished building a home addition with the intention of making the aquarium the centerpiece of the family room. This evolved from a tank, to a tank with a basement sump/fish room, to a tank with a basement sump/fish room built into a full wall bookcase. Me and my crazy ideas. While it involved a lot more work, in the end I am really pleased on how it all came out.

img_0334-jpg.3594291

IMG_0099.jpeg

System Profile:

Display tank: 240 gallon 8’x2’x2’
Glass or Acrylic: Acrylic
Stand: Wood stand reinforced and customized and part of a full wall built-in bookcase.
Sump:45-gallon Zero Edge located in the basement.