Reefer 350 water level drops in the return pump compartment

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Pimba

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I'm totally new to sump systems and this is my first aquarium with a sump.

Within 12hours it's dropped from that 6in mark (as specified in the manual) to the level seen in the picture. Water level in the DT or other sections of the sump hasn't changed.

Currently have my ATO removed. So does that mean that drop is the amount of water evaporated in 12hrs or something else?

Using sicce syncra pro 3000 at the lowest flow setting.
IMG_20211115_093238.jpg

Fishingandreefing

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So in 12 hours, about how many inches of water did it drop? It shouldn’t be more than couple of inches.

OP
OP
P

Pimba

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How do I know if that drop is not due to the flow rate from the main downpipe valve not matching the rate that my return pump is pumping water back to the DT?

How do I exactly match the main downpipe valve to the flow rate of the return pipe?

Tonycass12

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How do I know if that drop is not due to the flow rate from the main downpipe valve not matching the rate that my return pump is pumping water back to the DT?

How do I exactly match the main downpipe valve to the flow rate of the return pipe?
Your looking at evaporation. Flow rate will have little to nothing to do with this. All your other areas aquarium and sump are level controlled by the way the water has to flow. Your return pump chamber always shows evaporation.

OP
OP
P

Pimba

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to sump systems so just trying to understand.

Assume my return pump is pumping water up at a rate of 100GPH and my red sea downflow value is set to 90GPH. What would happen in this instance?

Tonycass12

Valuable Member