return pump flow?

AirIck

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I am new to reefing and have questions regarding return pump flow. First, I have an AIO Fluval Flex 32.5. The specs of the return flow that came with the tank is 214gph. I have read on another threat that people have upgraded this to the sicce 1.5 which gives 387gph. Is there a benefit and/or adverse affect if I upgrade the return pump? I have heard conflicting reports from people saying that less is better in the sump/return area and then others saying more is better (10 -50x). I am confused what flow means within the return pump if I am currently running an mp10 for water circulation within the tank itself. So is return flow really needed with a powerhead running? And if so, is 214 to 387 a big enough difference to upgrade? Any and all information regarding flow and the benefits would be greatly appreciated so I can learn! Especially if I ever plan on upgrading to larger and larger tanks in the future. Thanks!

JosephM

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Most people will run 3-5x flow through there system... sometimes up to 10x. I like to keep it around the 5x area. Do not get the flow between system and flow in DT mixed up. Depending on what corals you’re wanting 20-40x flow in DT is good. 214gph to 387 gph is a big difference just judging based on your tank size, I don’t know how large your sump is going to be. IMO you’ll be fine with the pump you have now unless you find yourself with not enough flow in your sump

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0