Rookie Reefer XL 425

kswan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMG_5391.JPG
After months of research I ordered a Red Sea Reefer XL 425. I'm new to the hobby and this my first saltwater tank. The Red Sea tanks really stood out to me for being high quality and aesthetically pleasing with great reviews. It was delivered today so the fun begins...

Jisko

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Following... I love the Red Sea tanks they're beautiful. Hang around the forums and ask all the questions you want :) I'm sure you can find just about everything you want to know here :)

OP
OP
kswan

kswan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've selected a spot that will work great for both viewing and maintenance. It is directly above an area of the basement with access to water and drainage. Unfortunately I need to move a vent but with access from the basement it won't be a problem. In the next few days I'll be putting in a wood floor under the tank. Wood is probably not the ideal choice but I have extra from when I remodeled the kitchen.

IMG_5386.JPG

IMG_5388.JPG

Jisko

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Be careful hehe water gets all over when working with the tank so having enough room to lay down towels and such is really nice

OP
OP
kswan

kswan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I purchased the return pump and a pump for my mixing station from the LFS. I went with a Varios 6 for the return and Aqua Mag 1200 for the mixing station. The Aqua Mag was relatively cheap, has enough head pressure and can be a backup for my return if necessary.

IMG_5379.JPG

Jisko

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
looks like you got your work cut out for you ;P

I use a 15g jug to store RO/DI water in then I transport it in 5g buckets up to my room where my main tank is. I guess its a bit of a pain but gives me a good work out haha

OP
OP
kswan

kswan