Salifert Calcium Test

Salt It Away

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Has anyone else had an issue with the Ca-2 solution dropper bottle? Getting 8 uniform drops from that bottle has become a real chore. Tried every method from bleeding first drop to relieving pressure after each drop. Getting dribble or double drops every time.

sc50964

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using API for Ca for the past 10 years. It's easy and affordable.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Has anyone else had an issue with the Ca-2 solution dropper bottle? Getting 8 uniform drops from that bottle has become a real chore. Tried every method from bleeding first drop to relieving pressure after each drop. Getting dribble or double drops every time.

The result is not likely dependent on the exact amount added, so I wouldn't agonize over this step. It is only the tank sample and the titration volume that are critical measurements (I believe, perhaps Habib will correct if wrong). :)

sc50964

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Unfortunately, I don't trust API anything.

IMO, regardless what brand of testing kit, I would always do a sample test based on a known water source. All brands have errors in their batch production from time to time. Hanna just recently had some major issues after long being a model of perfection. I use API coz I keep mostly LPS and it offers enough accuracy (lowest domination is 10s I believe).

OP
OP
Salt It Away

Salt It Away

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0