Salt Babies

SaltBabies

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm working on breeding several species. I'm at different levels with each. I could create a thread for each one but I think I'll keep just one as an online journal. I'm a hobbyist that enjoys breeding not a breeder. The main difference is all my fish are in large mixed tanks not small individual tanks which can make the eggs/spawn challenging.

The steps to breeding seem to be

Obtaining stock (individually or if you are lucky as a pair) Since I"m not in with any of the importers or wholesalers I don't have much access to pairs
Getting stock stabilized hopefully on prepared food
Getting stock conditioned, fat healthy with enough energy to produce eggs.
Pairing stock, making male and female pairs of the right maturity
Getting stock to spawn
Catching the spawn or eggs
Catching the larva
Providing the right food / environment for the larva
Getting them to settlement and metamorphosis
Growing them out
Switching to prepared food
Finding a place to sell/get rid of your babies.

Species I'm currently working with/on
Hippocampus erectus (seahorses) - Have babies, I'm well past settlement/metamorphosis and 60 days post hatch.
They are on prepared foods and I'm working on growing them out the largest is currently 2 1/2"

Ruby Reds - Have a mated pair, have obtained eggs, eggs have hatched to larva, working on culturing the food they need. 2 years or so ago got larva to 14 days with the beginning of color change to red.

Dragonface pipefish - Have 3 but not sure if they are the same species or if I have a boy and girl. I think I have 2 girls and a boy but the boy I believe is a different species compared to the girls. They are stable and eating prepared foods.

Yasha Gobies - Bought as a pair, stable eating prepared foods. Waiting for spawn.....

Tangaroa Gobies - have a trio that are stable eating prepared foods. Have seem some encouraging shimmies and shakes. Waiting for spawn.