Sea Hares mating and eggs

dkegflorida

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I must have had some sea hare eggs on some plants for my tank because I never bought any and one day I noticed 2 sea hares in my tank. That was about 6 weeks ago and now they are mating and laying eggs everywhere! I egg survived and is the size of the older ones already. I have been scraping the eggs off and discarding as I don't want anymore of them.

Attachments

• IMG_4828 (1).mp4
    14.6 MB

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I must have had some sea hare eggs on some plants for my tank because I never bought any and one day I noticed 2 sea hares in my tank. That was about 6 weeks ago and now they are mating and laying eggs everywhere! I egg survived and is the size of the older ones already. I have been scraping the eggs off and discarding as I don't want anymore of them.
Nice video!

I'm not an expert, but I believe these sea hares may be Bursatella leachii - if so, these actually become capable of reproduction after 2-3 months, then die shortly after mating. I'm not sure how long they last after mating, but I can't imagine them lasting too terribly long (based on their short lifespans and on the similar behaviors of many cephalopods, I'd guess probably a week or two at the most). How many egg casings have you had in your tank?

Also, for clarification here, you had one of the eggs hatch, develop, and settle into a new sea hare (now nearly the same size as the two adults) in your tank, yes?

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Nice- its amazing as to what their masses look like. Some look like silly string

OP
OP
D

dkegflorida

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nice video!