Seahorse Tank build

AmandaRaeJean

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys. So I am very new to this type of build. I came across this tank and I couldn't pass it up. It's a 30 gallon tall tank. I would love to put a pair of seahorses with a basic clean up crew and maybe a fish or two. I would love 2 pairs, but I am not sure if the tank is big enough. I also would love input on what type of filtration I should run. A hob filter, or a sump. there isn't much room underneath. Lighting from what I've been told can be minimal, but I am also wanting to do plants and such to make it natural. So the lighting is still questionable. I have not started even cycling the water or anything yet. I just bought the tank last week and wanted to wait til after the craziness of the holidays pass. I also am not sure what types of seahorses I would get. Any input is appreciated. I have done tons of research on seahorse.org but generally have pretty good help and responses on this site. Thought I'd give it a go! Thanks!

20161227_184627.jpg

cromag27

octoaquatics.com - ig = @octoaquatics. view my sig
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Keep in mind that sea horses do best in a species only tank. they are very sensitive to infections and diseases that can be passed on from other fish. they also need to be fed several times a day. but that tank would work for a few sea horses. I only recommend purchasing captive bred, directly from a breeder.

Waters

"...in perfect isolation, here behind my wall."
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0