Sick clowns..

Lunaboo32

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I am new to the saltwater hobby, I’ve been keeping freshwater for years now and decided to try a saltwater tank. I set up my 15 gallon about 4 weeks ago, and just added in some clowns along with a few invertebrates only 3 days ago. I got my clownfish from corals anonymous, which seemed like a fine place to get fish from as I’ve had good luck with their corals, and not assuming this is caused by them, but it looks like my clownfish are sick. I’m guessing it’s Brooklynella based off what I’ve read, as the smaller one looks like he is shedding skin or like a white film. Can someone help me?? The last photo is of my other clown, and it looks like she is starting to be affected too. I’m really worried this is going to ruin my whole tank.
IMG_8764.jpeg
IMG_8765.jpeg
IMG_8767.jpeg

Sharkbait19

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to the forum!
Unfortunately, that does look like brooklynella. Treatment of choice is formalin in a qt (but ruby reef rally also works and is more readily available). The display tank should run fishless for 6 weeks to starve out the disease while the clowns are in qt.

OP
OP
L

Lunaboo32

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you for the welcome. Unfortunately both clowns passed within a few hours of me making this post. It was late at night when I posted this, so there was no way I could go to the store to get any kind of treatment and nothing would be shipped on time. Do you know what exactly caused this? Could it be my fault or do you think I just was shipped sick fish? I just want to prevent it in the future. It’s so unfortunate

Sharkbait19

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry to hear - the excess mucus + a rapid death like that points to brooklynella.