Skimmer question

j.speaks

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone!

I am new to the hobby and am in the process of starting up my first tank. So far I have salt and sand in, but no live rock or a powerhead. I am trying to budget as much as I can for this build because I’m still in school so money isn’t easy to come by.

For my current filtration, I have a filter sock and a sponge in my sump. (Also bio media) the plan is definitely to get a skimmer down the road, but I need save up for it.

the next time I go to my lfs I want to get live rock, a powerhead and some clownfish (maybe hermit crabs too) my question is can I run the tank with just these fish in it without a skimmer? I have time for bi weekly water changes. Before I get any other fish I will definitely get the skimmer though, so all it will have is the clowns and hermits.

Tank is 65 gal (36 by 24 by 18)

CasperOe

In it to win it!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can, it is not a problem - just stay on top of your husbandry maintenance and water changes as you will have little filtration at hand.

I would test parameters weekly to make sure everything is in check.

Are you sure your tank is ready for livestock yet? Whether it is properly cycled? :) Chances are when you add your rock (.. if it's dry!) that you will restart the cycle so I would not recommend buying fish the same day as you buy rock.

I am running three tanks without skimmers - I am however doing 20% water changes every week.

tzabor10

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to the forum! Have you cycled the tank yet? I have always tried to get rocks in before the sand, but it is your call. Having healthy bacteria will lead to long term health of the entire tank. Most reefers frown on adding animals too soon. It could stress them and you. Skimmers are often used as a primary filter but not always. See if your lfs or local club has any pre owned