Skimmer recommendations for a 45g

gar732

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m sure there are a ton of threads like this but I didn’t come across one that was newer that was relevant to my tank size. I have a 45g that I’ve been ignoring for a few years and have finally decided to get it going. I haven’t been to active in the hobby for the last few years so I’m sure there are a lot of options out there that I’m not aware of. It’ll be a mixed reef, probably sps heavy.

My first thought was to go with a Deltec but the $500 price tag is a bit more than I’d like to spend. I was thinking around $300 would be more like it. I’m sure there will be plenty of great deals to be had next month so I might be able to get more bang for my buck then.

The somatic 60 crossed my mind but I hear they could be a bit loud and being right next to my living room couch I’d rather something a little more quiet. I would very much appreciate any suggestions, thanks in advance.

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m sure there are a ton of threads like this but I didn’t come across one that was newer that was relevant to my tank size. I have a 45g that I’ve been ignoring for a few years and have finally decided to get it going. I haven’t been to active in the hobby for the last few years so I’m sure there are a lot of options out there that I’m not aware of. It’ll be a mixed reef, probably sps heavy.

My first thought was to go with a Deltec but the $500 price tag is a bit more than I’d like to spend. I was thinking around $300 would be more like it. I’m sure there will be plenty of great deals to be had next month so I might be able to get more bang for my buck then.

The somatic 60 crossed my mind but I hear they could be a bit loud and being right next to my living room couch I’d rather something a little more quiet. I would very much appreciate any suggestions, thanks in advance.