SPS dominant 6 gallon tank *NEW TO SALTWATER, NEED YOUR HELP

BigBoyReefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello;Happy I am new to reefing and extremely fascinated in SPS coral (specifically chalices, acans, Scolys) and I really like nano tank. So I want to keep them in this 6 gallon tank but don’t know if I should and am curious about the requirements I would need to meet. Any info helps!! Open to buying other tanks to.

Tank dimensions:
20’ 7.5’ 7.5’
211406-innovativemarine-nuvoblack-nano-6galfragkit-fr.jpg

sawyern

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello there! Unfortunately that tank will most likely be way too small to keep much of anything. Small tanks are extremely tricky to keep afloat as keeping the water at appropriate parameters will require at minimum daily monitoring, very frequent water changes, and lots and lots of knowledge. Additionally, you will need to be dosing, or at least measuring the levels of, certain minerals to keep those corals happy and alive, which in that size of tank will also be hard.

If you were an experienced reefer, that tanks may be okay as a little frag tank for keeping coral before they grow large enough to be put in a display tank, but other than that I'm not sure it would be big enough for anything. A tank of that size will also require a sump tank in almost all circumstances.

What I would maybe recommend instead - start with a cheap 29gal or 55gal along with a 10-20gal sump, practice getting the water parameters down to a T, start with a few hardier corals and practice growing them, and then once you are confident in your ability to choose the proper hardware (lighting, sump tanks, protein skimmers, powerheads, filters, etc), then start getting into more specialty items like SPS and nano tanks (smaller tanks).

Good luck on your journey into the reef world :)

Blitheran

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0