Sps frags beginning to bleach

chedog83

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good morning everyone,

I am new to reef 2 reef and this is my first post so hopefully I get it right. I have a 72 gallon bow front mixed reef tank with a 20 gallon sump/refugium. I have had it going since about January so it’s been about 7 months. I have lots of Zoa for soft corals and some lps such as acans, candy cane, a frog spa wan and a newly added hammer colony. I dip all my coral in red seas X and a slight bit of are as an extra measure before adding to the tank. I also have quite a bit of sps frags that I either traded for or purchased which have been doing great. Lots of growth not only on the plug but vertical growth.after I added this new hammer(which I dipped) I noticed my birdsnest and a few other started to deteriorate and show signs of bleaching. I checked my parameters every day(don’t judge) as part of a morning routine. I check alk, calcium, ph daily.
magnesium, phosphate and nitrate about once a week. I have had no major swings and my parameters stay right round 8.4dkh, 435 calcium and 8.4 ph. After I noticed the issue my Mg was 1240, phosphate at .1 and nitrates at 0.
As part of routine I also feed/spot feed my fish and coral with a mixture of mysis, coral aminos, reef chili and reef roids. I dose all under recommended dosing because I do it so often. I also dose reef ab+ and restore.
As mentioned everything seemed to be booming then the bleaching start so I am a bit lost. I can’t tell if my birdsnest has pests or if my eyes are playing tricks on me because I’m looking for something. What I think I see are small black strips on the surface. I posted a few pictures to see if somebody can identify or let me know it is not the problem.

C94A9F8B-6DDC-44A6-A943-253F18FA46A0.png FB15150B-53D1-49BB-A511-0BB19B2AFA37.png 4BC4A322-D07D-4FA1-9B43-7EE22D091FD8.png

OP
OP
chedog83

chedog83

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%