Sump/Refug plumbing layout

desert_reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So total newb here. Currently planning / building my new tank setup. I’m looking for advice on how to plumb the sump & refugium.

Im using a 40g breeder and have a Icecap 24 Sump. The sump layout does not allow for a refugium so I will be building an external 10g refugium. So I’ll need to get water from the sump into the refugium before returned to the tank. This is how I plan the water flow to go. Is this ok? Is there a better route?

Tank overflow ➡️ Sump w/ Filter Sock ➡️ Skimmer Tank ➡️ Sump Return Tank but then pumped ➡️ External Refugium ➡️ Refugium Return Tank ➡️ Back to Tank

Hope that makes sense. I’m obviously planning proper plumbing fixtures (ie check valves, ball valves, emergency overflow, etc)

Be nice, I’m new lol

Reefer Reboot

F.V.P.!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there @desert_reefer , we're all new at some point so let's see what it is you're thinking. From what I've read into this you're going from the DT (display tank) to the Sump by gravity. (The sump consisting of the filter sock chamber, skimmer chamber and the return pump chamber. Also includes the fresh water reservoir but that's not important for this question.) From there you plan on using a pump to move the water to the Refugium (which will consist of External Refugium chamber and the Refugium return chamber). From there are you thinking of using a second pump to move the water back to the DT? You may (or shall I say "definitely will") find it difficult to balance the two pumps to the same flow rate. Or are you going to mount the Refugium higher than the DT and let gravity bring the water to the DT?

OP
OP
desert_reefer

desert_reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Exactly. I was thinking of pumping water from sump return to refugium. Then pump to DT. I see what your saying tho.