Switching Salt

Daniel91

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been using Tropic Marin in my IM10 for the last 6 months. It’s always been premixed from LFS but after finding 66 TDS in their RO water, I decided to get an RODI unit and make my own.

I have a bucket of Red Sea salt. To make the change as smooth as possible - would a 1gal waterchange every other day for the next two weeks be the way to go?

As an FYI of current parameters -

Salinity - 0.0025 (will be matched)

ALK, CA, MAG - 10, 450, 1300

While the Red Sea salt mixes fairly close at 0.025, there is still a fluctuation, which is why I will only be doing one gallon every other day.

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Define sensitive, haha. Its a mixed reef

Thanks
Some acros ime have been the most sensitive.
Nems May pout. Same with some lps. Etc.
if the alk is the same or less you’ll likely not notice.

emilios_reeftank

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If your new to the salt mixing process make sure you follow the directions on the box for mixing. I use Instant Ocean and I mix it for at least 8 hours with a small power-head. The main purpose of doing this is so the oxygen is in the water, pH, and all the other parameters will be stabilized. Good Luck Man!!!

DesertReefT4r

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You will be fine just check and make sure alk is close. Red Sea Coral Pro has really high alk so I would use the blue bucket and not Coral Pro.

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you are close (within 25% percent, ish), then I would not worry about this. I have what most people consider sensitive coral, and I can add freshly mixed IO into my tank with 7.0 alk and nothing complains. I think that alk swings are not a huge deal on otherwise healthy corals, but might be the final blow to corals that were on the edge.