Talh's 48g "Wannabe Cube" Reef

talh

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello R2R! My name is Logan Hillenburg, but I go by Talh online. First, a couple things about me. I am 24 years old. I work as a engineering consultant for a large Cisco partner. I play a bunch of video games. I also stream those video games occasionally, check me out @ www.twitch.tv/therealtalh -- my tank does make appearances through my "fish cam!" :D And finally, I keep a "slice of the ocean" in my bedroom.

I have been apart of R2R for a few years, but haven't made a thread because I wasn't super proud of my tank and felt completely ignorant in this hobby. Today I am posting a thread of my tank for a few reasons:
1. I hope to get feedback and improve as a reef keeper
2. I am proud of some of the successes I have had, albeit small, and want to share
3. I want to enter the many giveaway raffles that pop up here that require a tank thread ;)

My introduction into the hobby was 4 years ago when I was moving from college to start a new job. My roommate had a 40 gallon hexagon tank that he was going to throw away and literally loaded it into the back of my car before I drove away. I googled what I could do with it and discovered a small community reef that was set up in a hex tank. Thought it was pretty cool and had some cash to burn, so dove in. I quickly discovered that I hated the hex tank and when I found an old cube(ish) tank in my aunt's basement; I moved to that. Going to apologize ahead of time for the lack of timeline photos, as the tank today has been set up for a couple years now and I don't take photos when I do stuff.