TDS reading -> membrane filter replacement?

AI Hydra

xeanliao

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
77
Reaction score
24
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Hi, after changing the pre-filters, the TDS reading right before getting in DI is still at 27. I should've read it right before replacing them :-(., but I think it is higher than last year.

Is TDS 27 after membrane acceptable? If not, without other testing kits, would you go after replacing membrane filter next? It was about 4-5 years old. Any suggestions?
 
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting
Click to watch best scape method in 5 easy steps!
OP
X

xeanliao

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
77
Reaction score
24
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
What is your TDS after DI? You stated it was 27 before DI.
I also just changed resins as well.
For line 2 (after cation and antion), it is always higher than line 1, that doesn't make sense so I always ignore line 2 reading.
For line 3 (final after mixed resin), It is zero now. I think it was about 10, but again, I really regretted that I forgot to record it before change the filters, but since it read zero now, I careless and it is the line 1 that concerns me
 
OP
X

xeanliao

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
77
Reaction score
24
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
To get the most out of your DI you want the Membrane to do all the heavy lifting.
What is your tapwater TDS and PSI?
yeah, I am with you, that is why I concern about line1 reading. Going to replace it !
My psi is 75. I think it is a little low, but not low enough to install a booster, do you think so? I don't know the tapwater TDS. I only have the TDS meter come with the RODI system.

And yes, I am on city water, do you know which type of carbon cartridge I should use? I did not know it matters until now. Great great question for me to learn the right way.
 
Last edited:

Greg P

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
1,806
Reaction score
1,630
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Burnaby BC
yeah, I am with you, that is why I concern about line1 reading. Going to replace it !
My psi is 75. I think it is a little low, but not low enough to install a booster, do you think so? I don't know the tapwater TDS. I only have the TDS meter come with the RODI system.

And yes, I am on city water, do you know which type of carbon cartridge I should use? I did not know it matters until now. Great great question for me to learn the right way.
You should know what your pressure coming into your system is, before your Prefilter. This will help you knowing how efficient your RO membrane is.
You also need to know what the TDS of your tapwater is to calculate how efficient your Membrane is.
Forgive my typos
 
OP
X

xeanliao

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
77
Reaction score
24
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I have a second membrane, BRS 150 GPD Water Saver Upgrade Kit. installed 3 years ago.

I will have 2 new membrane today, thinking:
Do you think the 1st membrane may get exhausted more than 2nd one (or perhaps the other way around?), if yes, would you shift the 2nd one to be the first one and replace the older membrane with new membrane for now? Or, would you just replace both at the same time given the output is not good already?
 
Last edited:
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

Screwgunner

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Messages
723
Reaction score
735
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Millersburg
They are 50 gallon per day so if you use 2 you get 100 gallon per day they work together at the same time so they will deplete at the same speed .should be good for a couple years.
 

KStatefan

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
1,890
Reaction score
1,796
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
MHK
I have a second membrane, BRS 150 GPD Water Saver Upgrade Kit. installed 3 years ago.

I will have 2 new membrane today, thinking:
Do you think the 1st membrane may get exhausted more than 2nd one (or perhaps the other way around?), if yes, would you shift the 2nd one to be the first one and replace the older membrane with new membrane for now? Or, would you just replace both at the same time given the output is not good already?

The second membrane will see higher tds water then the first but i would change at the same time.
 
AI Hydra

Is your aquarium water as CLEAR as you would like?

  • YES

    Votes: 273 60.8%
  • NO

    Votes: 150 33.4%
  • Don't care that much

    Votes: 19 4.2%
  • Other

    Votes: 7 1.6%
Industrial Test Systems, Inc.
Top