Tell me about millepora

Lavey29

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My LFS says that within the SPS species of corals acropora are considered moderate to difficult level, millepora is considered difficult to very difficult and tennius is considered the hardest SPS to keep.

I just got my first millepora to try after about 8 months of success with my other acros so far. So what makes milles more difficult? What are some good points for a novice to consider? I'm pretty acquainted with the obvious concerns to focus on for SPS care but is there anything over and above for millies that I should be aware of?

VegasReefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not an SPS expert, but in my experience it has more to do with how long its been in captivity. Especially if we are talking wild/mariculture vs many generations of aquaculture tank raised frags. I have a purple milli that thinks its as hardy as pocillopora

billyocean

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good random flow, don't hit them with a constant direct blast/stream. Keep phosphate and nitrate from bottoming out. Plenty of light. No major swings in parameters is good too.

OP
OP
Lavey29

Lavey29

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not an SPS expert, but in my experience it has more to do with how long its been in captivity. Especially if we are talking wild/mariculture vs many generations of aquaculture tank raised frags. I have a purple milli that thinks its as hardy as pocillopora
Good point and that is applicable to all corals really.

GarrettT

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I personally wouldn’t consider it difficult, but that’s just me. Compared to a montipora, sure.

GarrettT

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So it's been the same level as other SPS like monti digi or stylos?