Thoughts on 300g seahorse pond

rayjay

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Fortunately, I’ve not developed an allergy related to artemia as for decades I’ve cultured them large scale for my own use and for sale to local LFSs to resell to customers.

As for the Topanga Beach thing, I have NO knowledge of that whatsoever. I’m a Canadian, living in London Ontario, half way between Detroit and Toronto, surrounded by all the Great Lakes that makes humidity a worse problem than living on marine coast anywhere.

Unfortunately, much of the world has been compromised and will never return to what it was and we only have ourselves to blame for it.

To be honest with myself, while having some years of experience with seahorses in aquariums, I’m certainly not knowledgeable in ANY way with a pond/lagoon type scenario and don’t know if methodology that I’m familiar with would be of any value to your project. I CAN however, comment on some aspects FWIW.

I agree, from what I’ve read on your proposal that H. erectus would be best for you at this time if only for the facts that they produce benthic fry AND are the most readily available seahorse in most places in the US.

In Canada here we have LITTLE access to seahorses with the few available occasionally being imported from usually Asian countries. I imported my current species on my own some years ago from Australia because I couldn’t get any others. (abdominalis and barbouri)

Now based on my personal experience and that of others I’ve respected over the years, I believe that the two most important aspects of keeping seahorses in tanks is to deal with the nasty bacteria that kills so many, and to maintain/boost the immune systems of the seahorses.

With feeding, using appropriately sized food that is either enriched with a high DHA component or already has it’s own DHA goes a long way to maintain seahorse poor immune systems. (they cannot produce their own DHA even though their bodies need it)