Thoughts on Waterbox v Red Sea equipment

logibear

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone! First post here so apologize if this conversation has been had but didn't find it in my searching. I am just getting started with my first saltwater tank after having a 75 g freshwater several years ago. I am looking into either waterbox 190.5 reef complete set up or red sea 625 G2+. What are the thoughts on the equipment that comes with these packages? Is the provided stuff good or am I just going to want to replace it soon anyway and it is a waste of money? Thanks for everyone's opinions and I can't wait to post more once I actually get a tank started!

TX_REEF

Kessil Fanboy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’d go with water box. I bought a Red Sea reefer 350 g2 because I loved how the display at my LFS looked, but if I researched more I would have gone with water box. Red Sea tanks come with metric plumbing with is inconvenient, there is company history of seam failure (didn’t know this before I bought) and the sumps are annoyingly tight and require special modifications to make space for any non-red sea equipment, and even some Red Sea equipment like a reef mat, if you don’t want wasted space. The gravity fed ATO is also super annoying because it wastes even more sump space and is way too small to last even a week. Finally, the Red Sea stand just feel cheap. They are some sort of epoxy coated board “lumber” that take FOREVER to assemble.

Water box looks just as good, if not better, and the stands are aluminum frame with much less assembly required. I can’t speak to the included goodies in the “packages”, but on base system criteria alone, I’d go with waterbox and as far as Red Sea equipment goes I can attest that their reef mat and test kits are great.

Good luck, let us know what you decide!

OctaviusBrine

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0