Torch Coral Help - tentacles short/head recession?

mr.lordacan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I’ve been battling phosphates/GHA for almost 6 months… currently reading 0.11pm now (was up to 0.61ppm in January). Nitrates 15PPM. Calc/Mg/Alk fall into normal ranges (I can test later if exact numbers needed) / pH is 8.0.

Over the past couple months my torch has lost its tentacle length and doesn’t open like it used too (uploaded video of current status, and attached photo of a few months back). I’m not sure if it’s due to flow, lighting, or what. Other corals are happy and my acans, trumpet, bubble, zoas, cyphastrea are all growing heads and mouths.

My lighting is 2 USA Orbit Current marine lights.

I have 2 hygger powerheads

Tank is a 40g Breeder, kept between 77-78F

https://youtube.com/shorts/ig0qp5YcgQg?feature=share

Any thought on the issue and how I can help bring this torch back to life? I’ve had it for 11 months. Can it be saved? It’s in rough shape.

Thanks in advance for any advice or thoughts.

IMG_7180.png

Dburr1014

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey, hi.
Anything can be saved it doesn't look like it's in too bad condition.
First off, your po4 is not bad at 0.11 can you maintain that?
NO3 is good to.

Has it been receding for a while? It does have flesh coming off the heads so that's a good sign. Not very long off the heads, so it's not great either, but don't worry you still have some.

Dburr1014

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey, hi.
NO3 is good to.

Has it been receding for a while? It does have flesh coming off the heads so that's a good sign. Not very long off the heads, so it's not great either, but don't worry you still have some.