Treating with hydrogen peroxide and charcoal

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It won’t matter but why dose it to the tank

we have much better ways, the recommend is to not dose the water. Curious to see pic of the challenge situation

OP
OP
Just John

Just John

Valuable Member? Seriously?
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I posted before about a mild dino problem that was starting in my month old tank. Diatoms came and went already. I now see what looks like cyano too. I got some frags a couple of weeks ago and I feel sure that's where it came from. In my last post I think you said to wait it out and do water changes with manual cleaning. Others have said to do a blackout, or use hydrogen peroxide, or miracle cures, etc, etc, etc. I am new at this and I don't know what is best or what is not. I decided to do what seems like a safe way that includes something from multiple recommendations. Phosphate and nitrate are both at zero (not feeding anything). So, keep the lights off except for an hour or two a day to slow it down, do water changes, manually remove, and dose with some hydrogen peroxide. Hydrogen peroxide is simply hydrogen and oxygen (obviously), so once any reaction is over it does not leave any mystery chemicals behind. Maybe a poor way to go about things, but that is what I came up with. I am not at home, but a picture would just show some patchy brown coating on the sand and a patchy thin layer on the rocks with bubbles forming in it. The cyano is just a 2"x 2" patch right now.

brandon429

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That’s a halfway decent use for it actually. One mil per ten gallons dosed max twice a day is known safe for most organisms except fireworms and lysmata shrimp. Since the known sensitive list doesn’t include most fish and corals and inverts it’s not harmful to try, take good pics your findings might boost up work threads.

ecrumpler