Triton Method vs “Other” Method

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

ShinyRobot

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am still relatively new to reefing, with a 150 gallon tank that was upgraded from a 55 gallon a year ago (total life of the fish, live rock, sand and LPS corals are about 3 years old now). My Ca, Mg, Alk levels are a bit low but only because until recently I assumed water changes were all I needed. I just ordered the BRS 2-part system and then a day ago started reading up on Triton method, and it has me convinced!

I’d like to convert my tank over before I start adding SPS corals. But I’m not sure I really want to completely change up my current sump setup, it took alot of effort to get things the way they are TBH.

I have been running biopellets for a few months and it’s cleaned out all of my algae problems just great. I have my skimmer in my first section, but I do have quite a bit of chaeto in my middle section. I still run just a small amount of GFO and ROX carbon, as well as a CO2 scrubber connected to my skimmer.

I apologize for the length of my question. BRS sells 2 versions of the Core7 system - a “Triton Method” and “Other Methods” versions. I’m curious what the differences are. I am thinking that the Triton Method would work just fine for me, since the biopellets are only removing nitrates in a similar fashion to the chaeto would do, I’m not running a calcium reactor and haven’t started any dosing regimines yet.

Thanks in advance!

Jason mack

Monti madness
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
One method requires a refugium minimum size 10% of your total system . The other can be diluted and just added too a sump with media reactor for GFO and carbon .. simply said that is !

OP
OP
ShinyRobot

ShinyRobot

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0