Unique approach to UV sterilizer. Your thoughts?

mcshams

Slave to my wife's reef desires
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am relatively new to hobby (little over 6 months), and run 2 tanks (40g cube, and 90 gallon cube with 15g sump/refug). I love the science behind the tank, gear, chemistry, etc. I have some thoughts I've recently put into practice on my 90g display tank on UV sterilizer. It's too early to know the results, but wanted to run the math/theory by all of you to see and hear what your thoughts are on the matter.

Generally accepted science on UV sterilizer follow the idea that slow flow through the UV housing works best to kill protozoan/bacterial infections (thus increasing contact time of the undesirable pathogen) in a single pass, whereas for algae control, the total volume of water per hour and/or day needs to be increased to help control algae growth (within the water column, not on the surface features). For instance, you'll see UV sterilizer sources promote this (such as Pentair) UV sterilizers indicating the following:

Pentair 25W
Specifications:
Max Aquarium Size: 130 Gallons
Number of Lamps: 1
Algae & Bacteria Water Flow Rate - 472GPH/788GPH (Suggested*/Maximum)
Protozoa Bacteria Water Flow Rate - 79GPH/131GPH (Suggested*/Maximum)

If I had picked this sterilizer for my 90g tank + 10g sump - 20g rock displacement = 80 gallons total, I'd effectively have to CHOOSE between one of the settings. I've read forum posts in which unique settings can be done in which algae speed/flow is done during the photosynthetic period (day) is more likely to grow algae, and then reduce flow of water to pass over UV bulb at night to effectively reduce harmful bacteria/protozoan. HOWEVER, what happens to the math if we size UP the bulb? You can effectively target a range in which BOTH algae and bacteria/protozoan are effectively removed.