Vols Reef 260 Gallon Build

Bozburn

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone, been skimming the pages for a while now but I figured I would finally post my build thread. I named it Vols Reef because that's the IG handle (Vols_reef) for my tank and I am still learning how to post better on that platform. I am a huge University of Tennessee fan so that's where the name came from. Will do a quick history on my time in the hobby and then get to the good stuff.

History: Back in college I had a buddy who had a 24 gallon nano cube and I immediately took an interest in it. In no time I had a similar nano cube with two clowns, royal gramma and a few soft corals. When I moved into my place that I knew I was going to be at for a while I had to upgrade. I made the upgrade to a 125 gal build with sump and the basic needs and halides. I had this tank for a few years but never fully got into corals outside the easy LPS and Soft corals. Fast forward to 2012ish, I graduated and decided to move back to Nashville so I had to take down the tank. After I moved back I worked on setting the tank back up but was focused on starting my career and never got it up and running.

I moved into my current house a few years ago and my wife and I know we are going to be here for a good long time, so early last year I told her I wanted to get back into the hobby and she was fully supportive of it. That's where this tank began so I will go through the equipment and some pictures then a follow up post with current fish list and the quick history of the struggle with the beginning.

Equipment:
Planet Aquariums Tank - Euro Braced - 84"x29.5"x24" - 260 Gallon
Trigger Platinum Sump 39" with fleece roller
NYOS 220 Skimmer - This thing is a beast
2 EcoTech MP60's
3 EcoTech Radion XR30 G5 Pro
Sicce Syncra SDC 9.0 return pump
RedSea Dosing Pump - just added
2 Bashea media reactors - GFO and Carbon
Neptune Apex controller with trident