wet or dry skimming?

Garth Schafluetzel

75 gal mixed tank in work
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ok this may be a dumb question but whats the difference between wet and dry skimming and how do i adjust if it is wet or dry and whats better for my tank. my old skimmer use to pull almost black green gunk. since im going from a 75$ in sump skimmer to a 400 dollar external skimmer. so theres a big difference for me and im still learning

oceanparadise1

The Coral Dudes
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
it depends on what u have in your system, for example for SPS tanks u wanna pull as much as possbile out bc they like really clean water so dry bc that pulls out all the black crap, for other systems where things dont need prestine water i do it in the middle. idk how u do it with ur skimmer but mine i just adjust the collection cup up or down idk if they are all like that thou

OP
OP
Garth Schafluetzel

Garth Schafluetzel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
no i have to open and close a gate valve and air valve lol but i guess trail and error from here on lol right now i only have 2 sps frags the rest are zoa and softies and 3 lps

OP
OP
Garth Schafluetzel

Garth Schafluetzel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
from what i understand dry pulls more gunk and wet pulls more water i guess lol i think im going to do it in the middle for now because my system will be mostly sps in the next couple months

oceanparadise1

The Coral Dudes
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
dry is going to pull the green looking poppy stuff and if u dry skim it will takes days and days to fill up the cup while wet skimming u might have to empty the cup daily or bi-daily

GMaquarium

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I like to run dry skimming and spaying down once a day. just spray some tank water into the skimmer from the top. It will make a burb and clear out the dry nasty skimmate that collected.

ss7