What are the best LPS corals for beginners?

Zionas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Winnieland (AKA “People’s” Republic of China)
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, for my tank I have decided to start with the lowest maintenance corals, softies, but eventually I would like to move onto some simpler LPS corals. My question is, how much more demanding are LPS corals compared to soft corals? I know I’ll have to start monitoring for PO4 and alkalinity and calcium whereas for softies it’s usually just stuff like Strontium, Magnesium etc.

Any requirements for tank maturity or can they be inserted at any stage like many softies?

What equipment do I need for LPS that I don’t need for softies? And what LPS corals are the best for a beginner?

When you moved from softies to LPS, how big of a leap was it in difficulty?

Thanks!

Last edited:

Vernon Ebron

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm just getting into the LPS trend, I have to say feeding would be one difference, LPS can be harder eater, try to feed your corals at night [when the fish are sleeping] they eat very slow.

S.Pepper

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, for my tank I have decided to start with the lowest maintenance corals, softies, but eventually I would like to move onto some simpler LPS corals. My question is, how much more demanding are LPS corals compared to soft corals? I know I’ll have to start monitoring for PO4 and alkalinity and calcium whereas for softies it’s usually just stuff like Strontium, Magnesium etc.

Any requirements for tank maturity or can they be inserted at any stage like many softies?

What equipment do I need for LPS that I don’t need for softies? And what LPS corals are the best for a beginner?

Thanks!