What Newbies should know about keeping Zoas

watercolour

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi-

I am a newbie gathering information on the care of Zoas. Maybe some of you more experienced keepers can steer us newbs in the right direction and turn this into a nice "go-to" thread for newbies. I am looking, not only for answers to the obvious questions- lighting, flow, feeding, minerals, supplements, water parameters, placement, etc. but also personal observations, tips and bits of wisdom as well. Anything you think a newbie should know.

Id like to start with a particular question-- Do all Zoas have basically the same requirements?

With that, I'll turn it over to the more experienced.

Last edited:

NapoliNewJersey

Achilles Keeper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Zoa's and Palys are all different with some similarities.

Certain ones like high light to keep color. Some like low light for the same reason.

Flow is different. High flow = longer skirst or High Flow = closed polyp.

I think a better way for the newbs is to just ask about individual pieces... take a picture and ask if anyone has them and where/how they keep them.

I know this sounds like a blow off but in reality they are all different and there really isn't a perfect system that can keep every type out there. For some reason I can't keep Red People Eaters ... I've gotten them from 3 seperate sources (not connect from the same source) and all 3 melted away on me.

I think it's best to just take pics and ask questions..... Besides ... we love pictures.

Hypertek99

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yep every zoanthid is different in different tanks. Some like high light, some like low. Some like high flow and some low. It's best to ask what kind of zoa you have and what they like. But i can tell you the smaller polyp zoanthids like really high flow for me and the palys like a med to low flow.

OP
OP
W

watercolour

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%