Which circulation pump should I get?

KingAh123

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, my old Tunze Gyre broke, and my tank is currently running on my emergency powerheads, which are Aqua Medic pumps that are AI Nero knock-offs. However, they aren't a permanent solution to my problem. Therefore, I'm in the market for new pumps, and I'm quite torn between getting an Ecotech MP40 or an AI Orbit 4. My main concern is that I want a pump that is silent, as I sleep in the same room as my tank. Additionally, I want it to be very effective at surface agitation; my tank dimensions are 150x50x50 cm. Lastly, I'm looking for a pump with a long lifespan.

Dburr1014

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Would the orbit (which is just like the maxspect gyre) be better at that sort of thing?
I have no experience with those type of pumps.
You can do an mp40... I only suggest also getting a pump that is directional. Then you can work with different flow patterns.
I have 2 wav pumps and a mp40. My 150cm I'm building will have the MP40 smack in the middle of the back glass. The wav pumps I plan to have in the middle of the back glass, one facing right pane and one facing left pane. I have angled 3d printed standoffs that will let me do this. I will have the wav pumps slightly facing up so when it hits the pane water flows up and breaks the surface.

Last edited:

Uncle99

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If water surface agitation is your goal (and keep in mind this can be noisy if run at night) I use just Jabeo 230 cross waves point slightly at the surface. They fire some good water across my acros and have ran silent, for 5 years now.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Another gyre is a consideration of your flow worked well. If not, some good ones out there are:
Octopulse
Jebao SL-20
Nero 3 or 5
Tunze turbo stream

OP
OP
KingAh123