Which ICP test ? ATI or Triton

mike550

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! Newbie here with a tank that’s about 1-1/2 years old and I’m thinking of getting an ICP test just to see how things are going. I was thinking of using ATI because it also tests RODI. But I’ve also heard that it take some time because the tests are done in Germany (?). It seems like Triton is done here in US, but I’m not planning to run the Triton method on my tank. Would appreciate any thoughts or suggestions on which test to use. Thanks in advance!

crs751

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I used ATI several times with good results. FYI the ATI tests are performed in California I think. They are based in Germany I believe but my tests were done domestically. I chose ATI too because of the fact that they test your RODI water.

Pistondog

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Triton test does reccomend corrections based on triton product, but those can be xreferenced to others. You don't need to be running triton method.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can you expand on why that is?

Because 0 ppm TDS RO/DI is rarely an issue of any sort, and when it does concern folks for having silicate, its still not a problem in most cases.

Mikedawg

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My recent ATI test was performed in their German lab and took about 10 days after I mailed samples. Customer service is very responsive btw.

OP
OP
M

mike550

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Because 0 ppm TDS RO/DI is rarely an issue of any sort, and when it does concern folks for having silicate, its still not a problem in most cases.
Thanks for your explanation. I want to get the RODI test just to verify nothing is sneaking in. I just replaced my sediment and carbon filters, so I figured it was a good time to check.