Why are my corals darkening?

Phyber

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my first attempt at SPS. I've gotten a few frags of different species to see what works. My birdsnest, stylophora and monti cap seem fine and I can see growth. I have a traditional acropora that seems fine, no distinct color change since purchase and good polyp extension. However, I have a green and purple staghorn that has seemingly darkened up a ton. I do see polyp extension. The fluorescence decline is what is so evident to me.

Water tests show:
SG: 1.026
Alk: 10
Cal: 485
Mg: 1390
Nitrate: Undetectable (I have an older API kit, waiting on new kits)
Phosphate: Undetectable (I have an older API kit, waiting on new kits)

I had been doing 20g bi-weekly water changes, but eased up on them once I was needing a 2 part regimen to keep up with Alk and Cal. Water changes couldn't keep up with my schedule.

This is the frag when first placed in the tank on September 6, 2019, followed by today September 29, 2019.
1569789635334.png

1569789682894.png

Tank is a 65g (36"w x 18"d x 24"h) lit by two AI Prime HD's running a modified BRS AB+ program for 12 hours a day.
1569789743503.png

1569789794050.png

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Corals can change colors. Most hardly at all, some can change a lot and it depends on that parameter changed to make it morph.

I have green wagon wheel zoas I bring home from the Florida Keys. Under ordinary led light in my tank (10" or more deep) they look perfectly normal. Set them up higher and give them more PAR and in a couple of weeks they lose the wagon wheel spokes and turn sky blue! Move them back down and in a few weeks they go back to being green. :eek:

OP
OP
Phyber

Phyber

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Corals can change colors. Most hardly at all, some can change a lot and it depends on that parameter changed to make it morph.