WWC: Corals better on rocks than racks

jmatt

Just gettin' started. Again.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm just getting started on my frag tank, and was thinking that it would look better if it was kind of a lagoon-style display for frags than the standard egg crate.

When lo and behold, I stumble into a video with ReefBuilders touring World Wide Corals.

"We found that corals seem to grow better in our displays than they do on frag racks" said Bobby Melton of WWC. Frags "grow way faster in our displays than they do sitting on our racks."

Check out the video at the 8 min mark.

Now, you'll notice they have no shortage of frags on racks in the video, but this really grabbed my attention since it what I'm aiming for.

Any speculation on this observation?

tautog83

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I dont think a coral knows if its growing on a rack or a rock ya know . What he is probably getting at is that the display has more fish in it and may just have a little different paramaters

OP
OP
jmatt

jmatt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I dont think a coral knows if its growing on a rack or a rock ya know . What he is probably getting at is that the display has more fish in it and may just have a little different paramaters
Well, obviously it's not a choice the corals make, just wondering what parameters change that would result in enough of a difference that an employee of WWC would comment on it.

I was thinking that perhaps it cuts back on flow and for some reason that's beneficial.

Timfish

Crusty Old Salt
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0