Yellow longnose, stopped eating in cupramine

Tyson

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've had a yellow longnose butterfly in QT for 2 weeks now. It pigged out on everything frozen I dropped in the tank from day one. After about 5 or 6 days of observation I started dosing cupramine. Brought it up real slow to .4 mg/L over 3-4 days. Unfortunately now, I haven't seen it eat since cupramine has been therapeutic. I think its been about 5 days since I've seen it eat and I'm thinking I need to change something. Is it time to pull the copper and try to get it eating again? I haven't found a lot of posts with people's experience treating YLN butterflies with copper. Maybe try switching to coppersafe? I could also try TTM, though I've never done it before. Fish looks quite healthy and I don't suspect anything, but after a few bouts with velvet on newcomers I'm super paranoid at putting in anything in the DT without a full run through copper.

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Some fish just cannot tolerate copper. I would remove all the copper and get the butterfly eating again. We can figure out where to go from there, depending upon how he is looking. The most important thing right now is to just get him eating again.

OP
OP
T

Tyson

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks Humble, I'll start running some carbon when I get home this afternoon and get ready for a water change. Hopefully the appetite comes back in the net day or 2, I'll keep you posted.

OP
OP
T

Tyson

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0