FOWLR Stocking 120 Gallon

BillB83

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I have a 120 gallon I just setup with with a sump that i was planning on using as a cichlid tank but I have a 135 gallon reef tank and now I'm thinking maybe I just use the 120 as a FOWLR tank.

What would be some stocking options with this 4x2 setup ?

So far im thinking:

Blue Spot Puffer
Yellow Corris Wrasse
Foxface
Marine Betta
Dwarf Lion Fish (not sure if compatible with other fish)
Maybe a 6+ damsels for some color (azure or yellow tails) typically the non satanspawn fish
Gold Stripe Maroon Clownfish pair ??

Thanks
Bill

blue600

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't see anything wrong with that, but I'm no expert. Just got back into the hobby a year ago after a 30 year gap.

Sophie"s mom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I have a 120 gallon I just setup with with a sump that i was planning on using as a cichlid tank but I have a 135 gallon reef tank and now I'm thinking maybe I just use the 120 as a FOWLR tank.

So far im thinking:

Blue Spot Puffer
Yellow Corris Wrasse
Foxface
Marine Betta
Maybe a 6+ damsels for some color (azure or yellow tails) typically the non satanspawn fish

Thanks
Bill
I am not 100% on this, but I do believe that all lionfish are off limits in a fowler tank. Also azure damsels can be rather nasty little fish. They are beautiful, but mean.

Devaji

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
the lion fish might eat the damsels, I *think the azure are on the more peaceful side for damsels. I had one a while back beautiful color was peaceful for me. ...but did not have that tank long maybe less than 2 years. IDK

those clowns and get mean I would skip personally. but that just me.

also consider a tank of wrasses, flashers, fairy etc. but it is nice to have those non reef safe fish. most grow to big for that tank but the dwarfs angels are nice.

enjoy that tank.