Clear mesh top

jimsflies

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thought I would share the cover I have been using to keep fish from jumping out of my tank. I have been using this mesh for tops for about 18 months and couldn't be happier. I used a glass top for several months, but don't like the glass because it accumulates condesation and salt spray which blocks light. I also had heat issues with the glass top.

The screen doesn't hold heat at all. After the halide was on all day, it is barely warm to the touch right under the bulb.

For those of you that use eggcrate, this top is also better because it allows more light to pass than eggcrate. With a metal halide, I got dark corners when I tried eggcrate. The light difference is hardly noticable with the clear mesh screen!

I have tried both 1/2 inch mesh and 1/4 inch mesh, both work very well. If you have real small fish, then the 1/4 is the way to go and doesn't compromise light intensity.

Here's photos of the top on the tank.

screen_top1.jpg

screen_top2.jpg

OP
OP
J

jimsflies

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For you DIY reefers, here is how I made the screen mesh top:

Materials Needed:
2 - 48" screen aluminum framing material (HD, Lowes, Menards, etc)
4 - screen frame corners
1 - roll of spline material
1 - spline roller
1 - roll of screening material (see Jimsflies description above)

photos courtesy of beakerbob...

Cut the aluminum framing to the interior size of the top of the tank lip (minus 1/16"), insert the corner and snap together:

frame_1.jpg

frame_2.jpg

Lay the screening on the framework and, using the splining tool, press the spline into the groove of the frame, starting at one corner and working around:
frame_3.jpg

frame_4.jpg

The splining will keep the screen taunt. Trim the excess screen material off the frame:

frame_5.jpg

And you have completed the screened tank top!

frame_6.jpg

czieler

Reefin' Girl
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0