“Hybrid” Barebottom - Please Critique

Whip

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good Afternoon All,

I am looking for some constructive criticism. I am going with a “hybrid” barebottom in my XXL 750. What does “hybrid” mean? I’m not entirely sure, but I’m my mind’s eye it’s an aquascape that has large Tonga plates acting as the barebottom.

This will be an SPS tank, so flow and lighting will be maxed out. It ain’t cheap, but it is what it is!

I like the minimalist look and I am trying to emulate that. I also like trenches, caves, and fingers that bleed off of the main stucture. I tried to emulate all.

I wouldn’t mind growing zoas or cyphastrea in the glass trench or fields of it on the desert plate...

Anyway, I’m not a paid artist (just an engineer), but I’ve drawn my whole life. I know the rule of thirds and non-symmetry, but I’m a novice at the acedemic side of artistic theory... so ANY help is appreciated.

Let me know if you need any other shots.

Here we go!

upload_2019-2-24_15-47-21.jpeg

upload_2019-2-24_15-47-58.jpeg

upload_2019-2-24_15-49-28.jpeg

upload_2019-2-24_15-51-25.jpeg

Firemanreefkeeper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Only critique would be it might be hard to grow on glass bottom as it's a smooth surface. I tried growing acro on back glass and it falls off if bumped. Other than that I think it looks good.

Sorcha2

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think you might have problems with debris getting stuck under the plates but I think it looks super cool and unique.

Zakery Murray

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Cool concept, I would make a little taller by adding another plate on top of them that is smaller so it gives it like a 3d ish hill.

OP
OP
Whip

Whip

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0